Club Admiralty

v7.0 - moving along, a point increase at a time

Club Admiralty Blog

A blog about life in general, in as many languages as I can manage. Ενα ιστολόγιο περι ζωής, πολυγλωσσο - σε όσες γλωσσες εχω μεράκι να γράψω.

2020 Travel in Review

 Permalink

While most 2020 travel was from home to the supermarket and back, there was a brief period before the lockdown where we could move around.  Here's my New England roaming last year 😜




 Comments
Stacks Image 18

2020 Decade in Achievements

 Permalink

 For the second year in a row, Microsoft didn't do an achievements year-in-review (boo😜), so I got an updated Decade In Review from TrueAchievements. It looks similar to what I posted last year (in fact I don't see anything for 2020... Looking at my TA for 2020 I see a lot of skewing toward older games (completed before 2020) and a big skew in January when I joined TA and all of my achievements were imported.  So, lots of junk data... Oh well, maybe 2021 will have better data ;-)



screencapture-trueachievements-decade-774466-2021-01-01-12_32_18
 Comments
Stacks Image 18

2020 Year In Beer

 Permalink

 Another Year In Review from a social site.  This time on Untappd, which I use to keep track of various beers I've tried (so that I can remember whether I liked or didn't like them when I see them in the store).  I don't expect of Untappd usage in 2021 since I've decided to take a break from beer in 2021, but we'll see.  Here's what happened in 2020:



screencapture-untappd-yearinbeer-2021-01-01-12_33_50
 Comments
Stacks Image 18

2020 Year In Books

 Permalink

 I usually post these a bit earlier in January, but here is my 2020 Goodreads year in review 🙂. I guess I met my minimum reading for 2020, even in a pandemic lockdown ;-)


screencapture-goodreads-user-year-in-books-2020-2021-01-01-12_34_25

 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Xbox decade in review

 Permalink

Well, I guess that there was one "x in review" that I missed.  TrueAchivements did the Decade in Review if you have an account with them.  The Rarest achievements were a bit of a surprise for me (especially for Defiance and Zombi, which were sort of palate cleanser games for me).  The most-played series was not a surprise, even though there are some errors in it (I've actually played 3 out of 4 Mass Effect games), but it's overall accurate.  What's counted here (I think) is achievements earned and not necessarily overall playtime.   I do find the breakdown of year/month for playtime quite interesting :-)


 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Year in review: xbox

 Permalink
Unfortunately this year the Microsoft Xbox team didn't do a year-in-review graphic for their plays 😢. It would have also been an opportunity to do a decade-in-review, but oh well.  Missed opportunity.  I guess they are working hard on the next Xbox, which is slated to be released December 2020.

I connected my Microsoft account with True Achievements to get a sense of what was played last year on my Xbox.  It's no surprise that Assassin's Creed is my top game.  I was surprised that Bionic Commando was the next big game on my list considering I didn't go out of my way to get those achievements.  It's also no surprise that the months I am most active are months when the semester ends, or is not in session.  The one thing that is missing from TrueAchivements is a metric for time played.  You could have played very little and earned a lot of achievements, or played a lot, and earned very little.  I don't like the badge metric as being the only one that matters.



 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Year in Review: Google reviews

 Permalink
I guess last year I decided to leave some reviews for various venues using Google's "leave review" functionality.  I guess it was a combination of free time and prompts of my phone to leave reviews (seems like I am quite susceptible to such behavioral suggestion...at least for a few weeks) :p


 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Year in Beer: An untappd Year in review

 Permalink

Every year some social sites tend to a year in review with data from your activity on the networks.  This year is no different.  I thought I'd post some of the data that came my way.   Today I have some data from Untappd.  I started using Untappd in 2014 when I went to Edmonton for my Doctoral Cohort's initiation into the EdD program.  I was trying out new beers and wanted to keep track of what I liked, and more importantly what I did not like!  Who knew that there was more to beer than Heineken, Amstel, and Coors?  Anyway, here's a year in Beer!  Not sure if the second graphic zooms, so here's the Flickr link.




 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Year in Review: Goodreads

 Permalink

Every year some social sites tend to a year in review with data from your activity on the networks.  This year is no different.  I thought I'd post some of the data that came my way.   Today I have some data from Goodreads. I always choose a low number of books to read each year.  I'd much meet and exceed my goal rather than not reach anything.  My goal this past year was to catch up with The Expanse series and read a lot of Star Trek.  I am mostly caught up with the Discovery era Novels.  I finished off the Enterprise era novels, and I am mostly caught up on the 24th century (post-crossover).  I am not sure yet what by 2020 goals will be.  I am thinking of introducing some Assassin's Creed this year. I am not sure if this graphic zooms in, so here's a link to Flickr (link)




 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Year in Review: Swarm

 Permalink

Every year some social sites tend to a year in review with data from your activity on the networks.  This year is no different.  I thought I'd post some of the data that came my way.   Today I have some data from Swarm (what used to be foursquare).  Location check-ins don't seem to be as big of a deal these days (with most competitors having gone the way of the dodo), but swarm still persists.  I do like using it because it gives a sense of what I've been up to over the past year.

As you can see most of my year has been pretty "normal" - not a ton of travel, mostly going to and from work.  This past year I did go to Winter Island and The Willows pretty often in the summer.  One of my favorite places to walk, and to also stretch one's legs when on a work break. I hope 2020 has more travels!




 Comments
Stacks Image 18

Archive

 Mar 2021
 Feb 2021
 Jan 2021
 Dec 2020
 Nov 2020
 Oct 2020
 Sep 2020
 Aug 2020
 Jul 2020
 Jun 2020
 May 2020
 Apr 2020
 Mar 2020
 Feb 2020
 Jan 2020
 Dec 2019
 Nov 2019
 Oct 2019
 Sep 2019
 Aug 2019
 Jul 2019
 Jun 2019
 May 2019
 Apr 2019
 Mar 2019
 Feb 2019
 Jan 2019
 Dec 2018
 Nov 2018
 Sep 2018
 Jun 2018
 May 2018
 Apr 2018
 Mar 2018
 Feb 2018
 Jan 2018
 Dec 2017
 Nov 2017
 Oct 2017
 Sep 2017
 Aug 2017
 Jul 2017
 Jun 2017
 May 2017
 Apr 2017
 Mar 2017
 Feb 2017
 Jan 2017
 Dec 2016
 Nov 2016
 Oct 2016
 Sep 2016
 Aug 2016
 Jul 2016
 Jun 2016
 May 2016
 Apr 2016
 Mar 2016
 Feb 2016
 Jan 2016
 Dec 2015
 Nov 2015
 Oct 2015
 Sep 2015
 Aug 2015
 Jul 2015
 Jun 2015
 May 2015
 Apr 2015
 Mar 2015
 Feb 2015
 Jan 2015
 Dec 2014
 Nov 2014
 Oct 2014
 Sep 2014
 Aug 2014
 Jul 2014
 Jun 2014
 May 2014
 Apr 2014
 Mar 2014
 Feb 2014
 Jan 2014
 Dec 2013
 Nov 2013
 Oct 2013
 Sep 2013
 Aug 2013
 Jul 2013
 Jun 2013
 May 2013
 Apr 2013
 Mar 2013
 Feb 2013
 Jan 2013
 Dec 2012
 Nov 2012
 Oct 2012
 Sep 2012
 Aug 2012
 Jul 2012
 Jun 2012
 May 2012
 Apr 2012
 Mar 2012
 Feb 2012
 Jan 2012
 Dec 2011
 Nov 2011
 Oct 2011
 Sep 2011
 Aug 2011
 Jul 2011
 Jun 2011
 May 2011
 Apr 2011
 Mar 2011
 Feb 2011
 Jan 2011
 Dec 2010
 Nov 2010
 Oct 2010
 Sep 2010
 Aug 2010
 Jul 2010
 Jun 2010
 May 2010
 Apr 2010
 Mar 2010
 Feb 2010
 Jan 2010
 Dec 2009
 Nov 2009
 Oct 2009
 Sep 2009
 Aug 2009
 Jul 2009
 Jun 2009
 May 2009
 Apr 2009
 Mar 2009
 Feb 2009
 Jan 2009
 Dec 2008
 Nov 2008
 Oct 2008
 Sep 2008
 Aug 2008
 Jul 2008
 Jun 2008
 May 2008
 Apr 2008
 Mar 2008
 Feb 2008
 Jan 2008
 Dec 2007
 Nov 2007
 Oct 2007
 Sep 2007
 Aug 2007
 Jul 2007
 Jun 2007
 May 2007
 Apr 2007
 Mar 2007
 Feb 2007
 Jan 2007
 Dec 2006
 Nov 2006
 Oct 2006
 Sep 2006
 Aug 2006
 Jul 2006
 Jun 2006
 May 2006
 Apr 2006
 Mar 2006
 Feb 2006
 Jan 2006
 Dec 2005
 Nov 2005
 Oct 2005
 Sep 2005
 Aug 2005
 Jul 2005
 Jun 2005
 May 2005
 Feb 2005
 Dec 2004
 Nov 2004
 Sep 2004
 Aug 2004
 Jun 2004
 Apr 2004
 Mar 2004
 Feb 2004
 Jan 2004
 Jul 2003
 Oct 2000
 Jun 2000
 May 2000
 Mar 2000
Stacks Image 20